Explore the only surviving rural twineworks with its original machinery in England. The site, which has origins dating back over 600 years, includes machinery and fittings and represents all stages of the manufacture and finishing of twine. We also celebrate Coker Canvas, the Royal Navy’s premium sailcloth.
New oak posts and the removal, after 10 years, of support scaffolding have transformed the appearance of the 100m ropewalk. Our ‘new’ 23HP stationary engine drives all the machinery via line-shafts, pulleys and belts.
Our ‘new’ engine. We have a 1927 Shanks diesel engine, made in Arbroath and rescued from a farm and lent by Phil Upshall. It’s very similar to the Twineworks’ original diesel which was sold when the works closed in 1968. We have installed it exactly as the original engine, and we still use the old underground silencers. We also have a smaller engine which drives a compressor to provide air to start the big engine.
94A High Street
Entry is free, but donations are welcome
Open all year
- On-site parking
- Parking nearby
- Limited disabled access
The Twine Works offers guided tours for schools and adult groups. Please contact the site for more information.
The site can assist researchers with enquiries about the building and the history of the industry. Please contact the site for more information.
Other Useful Information
We now have our own parking area. On the north side of the A30 High Street, adjacent to No 94 and in front of the Dawes iron gates.
- 20th Century