Choices, choices, choices! Fossils, sailors knots, photographs, alabaster sculptures, these are just some of the delights you will discover here.
Located where the Esplanade meets Market Street and occupying the ground floor of Watchet’s former Market House is Watchet Market House Museum.
The Market House is a two-storied stone building which was constructed during 1819-20 with open arches to the ground floor and an open staircase at its west end to the upper floor, under which was the Court Leet lock-up. The market was held on Saturdays and continued until the 1830s. The ground floor was later converted to a shop and from the 1920s the upper floor was used as a mission church, now known as Holy Cross Chapel.
One of the few surviving cork lifejackets. Most were destroyed and the cork used for fishing floats.
Entry is free, but donations are welcome
Open March to November
- Activity trails
- Parking nearby
- Limited disabled access
The Museum offers visits for schools and adult groups of up to 20 people. It also holds a programme of monthly talks on historical topics of interest. Please contact the Museum for more information.
The Museum can assist researchers with enquiries about the collection, local history and family history. Please contact the Museum for more information.
- Social history
- 20th Century
- Bronze Age
- Iron Age